Anne of Green Gables (Collector's Library)

Author(s): L. M. Montgomery


When red-headed orphan Anne Shirley arrives at Green Gables, she feels sure she's found the home she has always longed for. Her new adoptive parents, the Cuthberts, are less certain - they had asked the orphanage for a boy. But before long, Anne's irrepressible optimism and loving nature charms them. While her temper is unpredictable and her extravagant imagination makes her dreamily whimsical and prone to comic mishap, they come to love Anne as if she were their own child. A celebration of the transformative power of love, Lucy Maud Montgomery's beloved children's classic is a brilliantly warm and funny portrait of a girl who has a second chance at childhood. This beautiful Macmillan Collector's Library edition of Anne of Green Gables includes the original illustrations by M. A. & W. A. J. Claus and an afterword by publisher Anna South. Designed to appeal to the booklover, the Macmillan Collector's Library is a series of beautiful gift editions of much loved classic titles. Macmillan Collector's Library are books to love and treasure.

Product Information

Lucy Maud Montgomery's classic work of children's fiction

Lucy Maud Montgomery was born on Prince Edward Island, Canada, in 1874 and raised by her maternal grandparents following her mother's death. Biographical accounts of her upbringing suggest a strict and rather lonely childhood. She later spent a number of years working as a teacher before turning to journalism and then, ultimately, to writing fiction. Anne of Green Gables, published in 1908, was her first novel and has remained in print the world over ever since. Montgomery died in Toronto in 1942.

* Chapter - 1: Mrs Rachel Lynde is Surprised* Chapter - 2: Matthew Cuthbert is Surprised* Chapter - 3: Marilla Cuthbert is Surprised* Chapter - 4: Morning at Green Gables* Chapter - 5: Anne's History* Chapter - 6: Marilla Makes up Her Mind* Chapter - 7: Anne says Her Prayers* Chapter - 8: Anne's Bringing-up is Begun* Chapter - 9: Mrs Rachel Lynde is Properly Horrified* Chapter - 10: Anne's Apology* Chapter - 11: Anne's Impressions of Sunday School* Chapter - 12: A Solemn Vow and Promise* Chapter - 13: The Delights of Anticipation* Chapter - 14: Anne's Confession* Chapter - 15: A Tempest in the School Teapot* Chapter - 16: Diana is Invited to Tea, with Tragic Results* Chapter - 17: A New Interest in Life* Chapter - 18: Anne to the Rescue* Chapter - 19: A Concert, a Catastrophe and a Confession* Chapter - 20: A Good Imagination Gone Wrong* Chapter - 21: A New Departure in Flavourings* Chapter - 22: Anne is Invited out to Tea* Chapter - 23: Anne Comes to Grief in an Affair of Honour* Chapter - 24: Miss Stacy and Her Pupils get up a Concert* Chapter - 25: Matthew Insists on Puffed Sleeves* Chapter - 26: The Story Club is Formed* Chapter - 27: Vanity and Vexation of Spirit* Chapter - 28: An Unfortunate Lily Maid* Chapter - 29: An Epoch in Anne's Life* Chapter - 30: The Queen's Class is Organised* Chapter - 31: Where the Brook and River Meet* Chapter - 32: The Pass List is Out* Chapter - 33: The Hotel Concert* Chapter - 34: A Queen's Girl* Chapter - 35: The Winter at Queen's* Chapter - 36: The Glory and the Dream* Chapter - 37: The Reaper whose Name is Death* Chapter - 38: The Bend in the Road** Section - i: AFTERWORD* Section - ii: BIOGRAPHY

General Fields

  • : 9781509828012
  • : Macmillan Collector's Library
  • : Macmillan Collector's Library
  • : May 2017
  • : 156mm X 100mm X 22mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : May 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : L. M. Montgomery
  • : Hardback
  • : New Edition
  • : English
  • : General Adult
  • : 392